fbpx

Severe dyslexia, dyscalculia success story: “We can see her world getting bigger…”

Severe dyslexia, dyscalculia success story: “We can see her world getting bigger…”

Amy is a 10-year-old who has been diagnosed with severe dyslexia and dyscalculia. She got so behind in school that her parents started homeschooling her. Amy started with Edublox’s live online tutoring on August 27, 2020. Below are a few highlights that Amy’s mom Sandy shared with us so far:
.

.
Sep 30, 2020:

Hello Susan,

Amy wrote a birthday card for her sister last night. This is the first time Amy has ever wanted to write down words on paper! She wrote “Love Amy” on the inside without any help. She did beautifully and was very proud of herself. Progress!

Kind regards,
Sandy

.


.
Oct 14, 2020:

Hi Susan,

Thank you for this.

One other thing I wanted to mention about Amy is that she could not copy any words from a board until now. She was always in trouble at school because she could not copy her assignments or math problems from the board. They would tell us that they deal with dyslexia all the time and she should be able to do this despite her diagnosis. Any kind of copying was almost impossible for her. Now she is able to learn spelling by copying words down, and I can that tell she is hearing the words more clearly even though she can’t spell them yet.

Kind regards,
Sandy

.


.
Oct 27, 2020:

Hello Susan,

One other thing to share. Eric took Amy to the paint store to pick out a new color for her sister’s room. Amy was reading the names of the paint on the paint chips! She loves going to the paint store to see all the colors, but she would never attempt to read the color names. And especially not in front of her sister! 

We can see her world getting bigger, and we are so happy! Thank you!

Kind regards,
Sandy

.


.
Nov 14, 2020:

Hi Susan,

Today Amy was helping Eric in the yard. Eric dropped a small tool into a pile of leaves. She was helping him look for it and Amy asked, “Did you drop it to the right or to the left of that plant?”

We couldn’t believe it! We tried so many ways to help Amy understand left and right. Nothing worked. The whole Edublox system has helped Amy so much with reading and math, but it was hard for us to tell if it was helping her with this hidden, agonizing challenge. It certainly is! 

The tool is still lost, but our child is not! Thank you!

Kind regards,
Sandy 

.


.
Feb 11, 2021:

Hello Susan,

I am sending a couple of pages of math review from Amy. She did this by herself AND voluntarily!

This is such a big improvement. Last year at this time she could add, but she needed a number line or base 10 blocks and had to count everything out loud. It was so arduous. She worked at 70% accuracy even with someone sitting next to her. We could get through 5 or 6 problems at the most.

Now she does her math review independently at 100% accuracy. Her stamina has increased from being able to do 5-6 problems with support to 11-12 problems by herself and she isn’t tired. You and Desrei are filling in the missing pieces for her. Thank you!

Kind regards,
Sandy

.


.
Apr 12, 2021:

Hello Susan and Desrei,

We did some math review this morning, and I want to pass along some improvements that I see, especially in Amy’s working memory. She did these problems in about 5 minutes, independently with 100% accuracy and almost no anxiety. 

In particular, the addition problems (nos. 8 & 9) were a huge improvement. At the beginning of the year she did not have enough working memory to do a 3 number addition problem. She could add 2 numbers into the millions, but would shut down and hide in the bathroom if she saw 7+3+1. 

She read the word problems by herself and did the math in her head easily. She remembers what perimeter means! At the beginning of the year, I would have spaced this many problems out over a few days and had to sit with her. I know you are working on more advanced math, but the improvement in her memory, working memory, stamina, and confidence is really striking. Thank you!

Kind regards,
Sandy 

.



Sandy, mom of Amy, US Edublox Online Tutor April 12, 2021

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp